United Church Homes Communities Recognize Volunteers and Donors

Some of the awards given out during the ceremonies.

Donors and volunteers gathered as United Church Homes (UCH), based in Marion, Ohio, honored several impactful benefactors to its communities. The awards ceremonies were held throughout the summer at The Fairhaven Community in Upper Sandusky, Ohio; The Parkvue Community in Sandusky, Ohio; and The Glenwood Community in Marietta, Ohio. The Glenwood awards included sister community Harmar Place, also in Marietta.

Three awards — Diakonie, Spirit, and Ben M. Herbster — were given to those who exemplified giving in abundance.

The Diakonie Award is presented to congregations to honor those who have demonstrated faithfulness in their support of the mission of United Church Homes and its communities. Four factors considered in determining the awardees:

  • Faithfulness — The length of time the congregation has contributed to support United Church Homes.
  • Generosity — The total amount of their financial contribution.
  • Compassion — Significant service through volunteerism.
  • Encouragement — The promotion of individual support and involvement to United Church Homes from the congregation.

The 2022 Diakonie recipients are Lytton Zion UCC in Delta, Ohio (The Fairhaven Community); and United Church of Christ, Congregational in Vermilion, Ohio (The Parkvue Community).

The Spirit Award is presented to individuals who best exemplify the volunteerism, advocacy, inspiration and spirit for the residents and their families of United Church Homes communities. Awardees include: The Fairhaven Community Volunteer Service Group; Rebecca Waldock (The Parkvue Community); and Bob Oliver (The Glenwood Community).

The Ben M. Herbster Award is presented to individuals who best exemplify the philosophy, leadership, philanthropic spirit and achievements of the late Rev. Dr. Ben M. Herbster, the first president of the United Church of Christ. The 2022 awardees include James L. Henry (The Fairhaven Community); Dr. E. Anne Eddowes (The Parkvue Community); and Pat Bartsokas-Huth (The Glenwood Community).

“We are grateful for each donor who has given to these communities, especially to those who give exceedingly, either with time or resources so it is a pleasure to host events like these where these individuals can be honored,” said Gloria Hurwitz, UCH vice president of advancement.

Join Our Mailing LIst

Follow on Facebook

Quick Links